## **CONFERENCE CHAMPIONSHIP HISTORY**

Prior to 1983 the Lake Conference determined its Champion on the basis of dual meet record. Beginning in 1983 the champion was determined on the basis of a single championship meet. Over the last 30 years, most of the current members of the Lake Conference have been together but their conference has had three different names. The Classic Lake was formed in the spring of 1993 in the hope of bringing continuity to the group. In the previous association, schools were being moved in or out (e.g.-Armstrong, Eden Prairie, Osseo, Eagan) on the basis of size or geography. Over time that conference dwindled to five members and disbanded in 2010. Four of those members (Wayzata, Edina, Hopkins, and Minnetonka) were then placed back in the Lake Conference. In protest of this placement all of the Lake Conference schools except Eden Prairie left for other conferences. Thus, Wayzata is back in the Lake Conference as of 2010. In 2019, the MSHSL added two members to the Lake Conference: Buffalo and St. Michael-Albertville, bringing the membership up to 7 schools, as it stands today.

Wayzata's finish Tea	<u>m Winner</u>	Individual Champion	Meet Site
LAKE NORTH CHAMPIONSHIP			
1983- 3rd with 62 points	(Armstrong 48)	Bob Kempainen, Hopkins 16:09	Rich Acres
1984- 3rd with 83 points	(Osseo 22)	Carson Hoeft, Armstrong 16:51	Rich Acres
1985- 4th with 96 points	(Osseo 40)	Matt Ferry, Osseo 16:07	Rich Acres
LAKE BLUE CHAMPIONSHIP			
1986- 4th with 118 points	(Minnetonka 33)	Steve Holman, Richfield 16:42	Rich Acres
1987- 3rd with 80 points	(Edina 36)	Steve Holman, Richfield 16:15	Rich Acres
1988- 2nd with 37 points	(Edina 32)	Ben Stoneking, Edina 16:54	Rich Acres
1989- 1st with 43 points	(Wayzata 43)	Ben Stoneking, Edina 16:38	Rich Acres
1990- 2nd with 55 points	(Hopkins 51)	Chris Ringsven, Hopkins 16:26	Rich Acres
1991- 4th with 90 points	(Edina 44)	Pat Hoard, Wayzata 16:57	Rich Acres
1992- 1st with 19 points	(Wayzata 19)	Pat Hoard, Wayzata 16:07	<b>Rich Acres</b>
CLASSIC LAKE CHAMPIONSHIP			
1993- 1st with 26 points	(Wayzata 26)	Adam Stuhlfaut, Wayzata 16:08	Rich Acres
1994- <b>1st with 21 points</b>	(Wayzata 21)	Jacob Hallen, Wayzata 16:21	Braemar #3
1995- 1st with 24 points	(Wayzata 24)	David Herman, Wayzata 16:49	Braemar #1
1996- 1st with 47 points	(Wayzata 47)	David Herman, Wayzata 16:06	Bassett Creek
1997- 5th with 88 points	(Hopkins 41)	Jim Mahoney, Edina 17:11	Bassett Creek
1998- 5th with 99 points	(Hopkins 31)	Peter Tollefson, Hopkins 16:16	Bassett Creek
1999- 2nd with 46 points	(Hopkins 34)	Ryan Malmin, Hopkins 16:01	Bassett Creek
2000- 2nd with 38 points	(Hopkins 37)	Ryan Malmin, Hopkins 16:04	Bassett Creek
2001- 2nd with 46 points	(Hopkins 23)	David VanOrsdel, Hopkins 16:01	Bassett Creek
2002- 3rd with 77 points	(Hopkins 24)	David Van Orsdel, Hopkins 16:10	Bassett Creek
2003- 3rd with 80 points	(Hopkins 29)	Mike Krisch, Hopkins 16:02	Gale Woods
2004- 3rd with 77 points	(Hopkins 37)	Mike Krisch, Hopkins 15:57	Gale Woods
2005- 2nd with 50 points	(Edina 39)	TC Lumbar, Edina 15:55	Gale Woods
2006- 1st with 54 points	(Wayzata 54)	TC Lumbar, Edina 15:54	Gale Woods
2007- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 36 points	(Wayzata 36)	Danny Ducharme, Wayzata 16:00	Gale Woods
2008- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 29 points	(Wayzata 29)	B. Shannon-Tamrat, Hopkins 16:10	Gale Woods
2009- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 19 points	(Wayzata 19)	Josh Thorson, Wayzata 16:15	Gale Woods
LAKE CHAMPIONSHIP			
2010- $2^{nd}$ with 47 points	(Edina 41)	Josh Thorson, Wayzata 15:51	Gale Woods
2011- 2nd with 62 points	(Edina 57)	Josh Thorson, Wayzata 15:47	Gale Woods
2012- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 45 points	(Wayzata 45)	Joe Klecker, Hopkins 15:28	Gale Woods
2013- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 25 points	(Wayzata 25)	Connor Olson, Wayzata 15:44	Gale Woods
2014- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 30 points	(Wayzata 30)	Connor Olson, Wayzata 15:09	Gale Woods
2015- 3 <sup>rd</sup> with 53 points	(Hopkins 33)	Jaret Carpenter, Wayzata 15:17	Gale Woods
2016- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 33 points	(Wayzata 33)	Seth Eliason, Hopkins 15:42	Gale Woods
2017- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 33 points	(Wayzata 33)	Khalid Hussein, Wayzata 15:55	Gale Woods
2018- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 42 points	(Wayzata 42)	Max Manley, Edina 15:26	Gale Woods
2019- 4 <sup>th</sup> with 95 points	(Eden Prairie 38)	Shuayb Hussein, Wayzata 16:04	Gale Woods
2020- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 49 points	(Wayzata 49)	Nick Gilles, Minnetonka 16:03	Gale Woods
2021- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 45 points	(Wayzata 45)	Nick Gilles, Minnetonka 15:16	Gale Woods
2022- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 23 points	(Wayzata 23)	Hamza Mohamed, Wayzata 15:25	Gale Woods
2023- 1 <sup>st</sup> with 35 points	(Wayzata 35)	Will Weber, Wayzata 15:25	Gale Woods